Skip to Content


Local Authority elections throughout New Zealand are held by postal vote every three years.

Elections are conducted under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the Local Electoral Regulations 2001, and the Local Government Act 2002.

2016 Council Election

2013 Council Election

2010 Council Election

2009 Council By Election

2007 Council Election

Can't find what you are looking for?

Try our A-Z of Services, FAQs or search the site. Let us know about it. Use our feedback form or email us.

File types

To view PDF files, you may need to download Adobe Reader.

Get Adobe Reader.

Having trouble opening a PDF with Google Chrome? Read more