Township plans


COVID-19 Alert Level 2 information

See information and updates relating to Council services during Alert Level 2 - many Council facilities are now open, including our offices and customer service centres.

Share this page


Township plans

Using the Smart and Connected framework, Council will link the aspirations of communities with good outdoor public space design. These will come together in a Township Plan for each community to create the kind of place where people want to live, work and play. Small, easy to achieve projects will be implemented as soon as possible through Stage One. The planning and delivery of Stage Two of the Plan is likely to take around two to three years to complete.

The eligible towns that are currently on the Growing Marlborough Strategy list are: Anakiwa/ Tirimoana, Canvastown/Wakamarina Valley, Grovetown, Havelock, Linkwater/the Grove, Momorangi Bay, Ngakuta Bay, Ohingaroa Bay, Okiwi Bay, Rai Valley Township, Rarangi, Renwick, Seddon, Spring Creek, Tuamarina, Wairau Valley and Ward.

Work has started on developing a Township Plan for Renwick, Havelock, Wairau Valley, Spring Creek, Ward and Canvastown. As the programme continues new communities will be brought into the process each year as the current ones are completed.