Environment Committee


COVID-19 Alert Level 2 information

See information and updates relating to Council services during Alert Level 2 - many Council facilities are now open, including our offices and customer service centres.

Share this page


Environment Committee

This Committee is responsible for environmental science and monitoring; monitoring of consents; enforcement and prosecution policies; biosecurity; animal control; building control; resource consent processing; dangerous goods; fencing of swimming pools; food and health monitoring; and harbour management.

  • Mayor John Leggett (Chairperson)
  • Clr Gerald Hope (Deputy)
  • Clr David Oddie (Deputy)
  • Clr Jamie Arbuckle
  • Clr David Croad
  • Clr Barbara Faulls
  • Clr Thelma Sowman
  • Iwi representative (to be advised)
  • Rural Representative (to be advised)